{Sabbath Rest}

I am so blessed for the pause that happens weekly on the Sabbath. That pause that is like no other can define my week and is a true and literal recharging. I’m a Seventh Day Adventist, which means we acknowledge the traditional day of sabbath which is from sunset on Friday, to sunset on Saturday, and in that time, we enter into fellowship, worship and, yes, rest. It’s an entire day of meditation were I can study my bible, and spend time with my family; believe me when I tell you that naps on the sabbath are ten times better than any other time of the week. It is a specific peace that is unparalleled.

Don’t mistake me, it took a long time to fulling appreciate the beauty of this day, and I still have a hard time refocusing my mind on worship. I’ve come to learn this isn’t a tense concentration, but a mental release, that requires me to ask the Holy Spirit to take over and give me peace. This isn’t an easy thing, but it is a rewarding one. I love this day because I spend it with the people I love. I’m blessed by the sabbath, and I highly suggest you take the time to be at peace, and worship God. You’ll be amazed by the contentment it brings.

“There remains, then, a Sabbath-rest for the people of God;” {Hebrews  4:9}

 

Leave a Reply

