{Stockholm Sound}

When did people stop looking out windows? 
When did distraction become the better option? 
I feel entangled by wires and cords, 
blinded by mechanical glow.
I’m held hostage by sound, 
yet, like Stockholm Syndrome I’m hypnotized by my captor
choosing not to run out of convention. 
But still, I feel repression.
In the back of my mind I know I need to brave silence 
and let go of white noise.
My mind is savagely torn: culture cries for numbing the world,
rejecting the bad and good for the safety of sound;
and then the other voice, the still small voice that says 
“be still”.
I relax to calm and take out my headphones, turn away, 
and for what feels like the first time in forever, 
I look up.
The repression in my chest is released like a breath I’d been 
holding for far to long, like clamps removed from my lungs
I’m breathing.
Finally, I hear Him saying “I am with you.”
When did people stop looking out windows?

2 Comments

Add yours →

  1. “Finally, I hear Him saying “I am with you.”
    When did people stop looking out windows?”

    Love this poem, especially these final lines.

Leave a Reply

