{Golden Wings}

These golden feathers weigh me down.
How bitter now, that once were my crown.
And even though I struggled and tried 
“I am bound by beauty” I openly cried
I thought that they would help me fly 
But now it’s like they help me die
I see the birds with simple wings
Their minds on life and other things
One may look down at me 
And say “Oh my how pretty” 
I wanted wings so bright and brazen 
And thought that it would make a haven 
But now I see I had it all
All before, before my fall.
And now I have the golden wings
They may think only glory it brings 
But how I wish I could take there place 
With simple wings and endless grace

20140204-183133.jpg

Leave a Reply

